Deadlock II, VirtualBox, game freeze

Ask here for technical assistance with installing, running, etc. Forum related issues should be reported here, too.
Post Reply
User avatar
crow
Hatchling
Hatchling
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2016 12:25 am

Deadlock II, VirtualBox, game freeze

Post by crow »

I play Deadlock II v1.20 on VirtualBox under m$ window$ XP.

I have notice that after opening Deadlock II for a long time it will stop responding on sound effects.
Right after this happened, just a few more clicks the game will freeze and will never respond again.

I have to stop the virtual machine and switch sound card from ICH AC97 to Intel HD Audio;
Run the machine, cancel the driver auto installation prompt, shutdown again.
Switch the sound card back to ICH AC97 and run the machine again.

This is a workaround but is there any method to cure it completely?

User avatar
Tggtt
Mighty Colony Leader
Mighty Colony Leader
Posts: 217
Joined: Sun Oct 06, 2013 8:08 pm

Re: Deadlock II, VirtualBox, game freeze

Post by Tggtt »

Hello Crow,

Please post what is your guest OS and your host OS first.

Are they the same?

Have you tried disabling audio on Virtual Box? Does it still freeze?
Best 20x20 Map is elected.
Follow @OpenDeadlock.
Please help Deadlock Wikis by documenting buildings.
Note: OpenDeadlock Knowledge Gathering has been updated. Translation and Build Tools might fail. Send me a PM if you need help.

User avatar
crow
Hatchling
Hatchling
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2016 12:25 am

Re: Deadlock II, VirtualBox, game freeze

Post by crow »

Host OS: Windows 10 Home Edition
Guest OS: Windows XP Home Edition 2002 SP3

I have notice that when this kind of failure happens, my host OS audio still works well.
So, I think the problem would be on Virtual Box or on Windows XP (or, between them?)

Although I have not tried to disable audio before, I think doing it would work.
But.. without audio I will not be able to do "the counting" on combat, this would be some kind of trouble too.

User avatar
Tggtt
Mighty Colony Leader
Mighty Colony Leader
Posts: 217
Joined: Sun Oct 06, 2013 8:08 pm

Re: Deadlock II, VirtualBox, game freeze

Post by Tggtt »

Hello Crow,

I am asking to disable it just for testing.

Windows XP guests should have no problem using ICH AC97 without needing to provide drivers.

I have never had this issue with Windows XP and ICH AC97.

Perhaps you have installed something into your guest OS that caused the problem.
Since it's freezing the game, it's probably some issue inside the VM.
Best 20x20 Map is elected.
Follow @OpenDeadlock.
Please help Deadlock Wikis by documenting buildings.
Note: OpenDeadlock Knowledge Gathering has been updated. Translation and Build Tools might fail. Send me a PM if you need help.

Post Reply