Running deadlock planetary conquest on windows 10

Ask here for technical assistance with installing, running, etc. Forum related issues should be reported here, too.
Post Reply
sdu754
Advisor
Advisor
Posts: 51
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2011 4:50 pm
Favourite Race: Re'Lu

Running deadlock planetary conquest on windows 10

Post by sdu754 » Mon Sep 26, 2016 10:57 pm

Does anybody know how to make it work?

User avatar
Tggtt
Mighty Colony Leader
Mighty Colony Leader
Posts: 210
Joined: Sun Oct 06, 2013 8:08 pm

Re: Running deadlock planetary conquest on windows 10

Post by Tggtt » Tue Sep 27, 2016 4:20 am

Hello sdu754,

I haven't tried it myself.

Which DL1 version are you trying to run?
DL1 had at least one update since the original CD version;
And some versions bought online may have some old library dependencies (which might disable some features, such as multiplayer) that makes it easier to work on newer Windows versions.

Thanks.
Best 20x20 Map is elected.
Follow @OpenDeadlock.
Please help Deadlock Wikis by documenting buildings.
Note: OpenDeadlock Knowledge Gathering has been updated. Translation and Build Tools might fail. Send me a PM if you need help.

sdu754
Advisor
Advisor
Posts: 51
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2011 4:50 pm
Favourite Race: Re'Lu

Re: Running deadlock planetary conquest on windows 10

Post by sdu754 » Sat Oct 01, 2016 6:30 am

original cd version. It won't even install

User avatar
Tggtt
Mighty Colony Leader
Mighty Colony Leader
Posts: 210
Joined: Sun Oct 06, 2013 8:08 pm

Re: Running deadlock planetary conquest on windows 10

Post by Tggtt » Sun Oct 02, 2016 2:33 am

Hello sdu754,

I usually recommend trying to run it on a VM because it would run glitchy (under Windows 10 natively).

Please try a demo version, for instance, non-english demos do not require installation, so you can just check if they start.
http://www.galliusiv.com/Gallius_IV/Downloads.html


I am sorry but the original version probably does not work on Windows 10 natively.
I think a better solution would require patching the executable.
Best 20x20 Map is elected.
Follow @OpenDeadlock.
Please help Deadlock Wikis by documenting buildings.
Note: OpenDeadlock Knowledge Gathering has been updated. Translation and Build Tools might fail. Send me a PM if you need help.

sdu754
Advisor
Advisor
Posts: 51
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2011 4:50 pm
Favourite Race: Re'Lu

Re: Running deadlock planetary conquest on windows 10

Post by sdu754 » Sun Oct 02, 2016 4:25 am

It gives an error code. something like bwc332,dll is missing

User avatar
Tggtt
Mighty Colony Leader
Mighty Colony Leader
Posts: 210
Joined: Sun Oct 06, 2013 8:08 pm

Re: Running deadlock planetary conquest on windows 10

Post by Tggtt » Mon Oct 03, 2016 4:07 am

Hello sdu754,

I am sharing DLL files that are probably missing. I believe the other DLL files are already provided within the demo's ZIP.

All you need to do is to extract the attachment I am providing into the same folder where you have the deadlock executable.

You do not need to replace the file if you already have some of them.
Attachments
dl1sharedlibs.zip
Shared DLLs of Deadlock. Excludes DLNET, MPSOUND, Smacker and WAIL.
(230.35 KiB) Downloaded 264 times
Best 20x20 Map is elected.
Follow @OpenDeadlock.
Please help Deadlock Wikis by documenting buildings.
Note: OpenDeadlock Knowledge Gathering has been updated. Translation and Build Tools might fail. Send me a PM if you need help.

User avatar
surchk
Colonist
Colonist
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2010 12:51 am
Favourite Race: Uva Mosk
Location: USA, NY

Re: Running deadlock planetary conquest on windows 10

Post by surchk » Sun Dec 18, 2016 10:03 am

I know this is a bit old but...

For anyone reading right now, i think the best options for playing the game on operating systems post Windows XP is via the versions offered through GOG and/or Steam. From my experience they have worked great for single player. If you are interested in tinkering with multiplayer and you've still got your original CD media, then using a combination of VM software and hamachi would be the best bet :D

User avatar
Tggtt
Mighty Colony Leader
Mighty Colony Leader
Posts: 210
Joined: Sun Oct 06, 2013 8:08 pm

Re: Running deadlock planetary conquest on windows 10

Post by Tggtt » Sun Dec 18, 2016 11:18 pm

surchk wrote:If you are interested in tinkering with multiplayer and you've still got your original CD media, then using a combination of VM software and hamachi would be the best bet :D
Thanks surchk, I often point that using VM is a good idea here.
I just need to add that if someone is reading this and wants to try multiplayer with Deadlock 1 (planetary conquest) but doesn't have the original CD, you can use the GOG version with the MP patch instead.
Best 20x20 Map is elected.
Follow @OpenDeadlock.
Please help Deadlock Wikis by documenting buildings.
Note: OpenDeadlock Knowledge Gathering has been updated. Translation and Build Tools might fail. Send me a PM if you need help.

General9913
Colonist
Colonist
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2011 3:24 pm
Favourite Race: Maug
Contact:

Re: Running deadlock planetary conquest on windows 10

Post by General9913 » Thu Mar 30, 2017 12:26 am

I tried to run Deadlock Planetary Conquest Demo with patch 1.31 applied on a Windows 7 system. It starts alright but there's no image and the game crashes... :cry:

Post Reply